And so it begins…

Where to start? NLP has so much to offer and there are so many skills I would like to master… creating rapport, pacing and leading, the Meta Model, the Milton Model etc.

After discussing the NLP presuppositions, many courses start with building rapport. As Tony Robbins says: “Rapport is power!” Let’s focus on that: How do you create rapport?

Traditionally, rapport building is done by mirroring, pacing and leading. However, Martin Messier of DailyNLP states that mirroring is mostly a result of rapport, not the cause. According to him, rapport is almost instantly created either when you have to offer something interesting or when you may inflict pain to the other person. Doing a quick ecology check, inflicting pain to others is not something I want to try, but offering something interesting is one thing I will experiment with.

But first things first: lets start with the mirroring, pacing and leading. In the upcoming days, I will try to mirror and pace and, if successful try to start leading. My experiences will be in my next post.

Leave a comment